XeNonX


Review: Magic Ball by Ryan Gray
February 9, 2009, 11:13 pm
Filed under: Reviews | Tags: ,

untitled-151

[By Ryan]

Magic Ball is another PSN game by Creat Studios. I’ve played alot of PSN games since I’ve gotten my Ps3 and some have been great and others have been pretty crappy as much as I hate to say it. Which category does Magic Ball fall in? Hit the jump to find out.

When I first started up Magic Ball I was pleased to see a very nice menu set up, good music, and an overall fun vibe from the game. Good start. Then I started up the game. I was expecting for it to just be a flashy variant on brick breaker. I was definitely wrong about that presumption, this is a hell of a lot more than that. First of all, your ball can morph into cannonballs, spiked balls, lava balls, or anything else you can basically think of. Your “ball bouncer”? I really don’t know what it’s called, but it can be upgraded with guns, cannons, lasers, you name it. (Look at the picture below to see what I’m talking about)  There are also weather effects like thunder, wind, and more that help you take down items on the board. It all mixes extremely well and makes for an extremely addictive variant on brick breaker. Great job Creat, I’ll be playing this for sometime.

This is the "ball bouncer" that I'm talking about. If anyone has a better name for it, please tell.

This is the "ball bouncer" that I'm talking about. If anyone has a better name for it, please tell.

On the presentation side of things, it succeeds as well, at least for a PSN game. The graphics are clean, colorful, and vibrant. The sound is nothing special, but it’s definitely not a negative. The menus, again, are set up nicely. Everything works together really well, and for 10 USD, it’s a very good deal that I would not pass up. It will keep you busy for a little while when you first get it, and you’ll definitely come back to it every now and again for a quick fix.

Overall, on a scale from 1-10, I’d give it an 8.0 . Obviously a game thats not deep or has a story, but thats not the point. It’s for fun, and that it certainly has.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

