XeNonX


Event Report: i35 by Anthony Barlow
November 3, 2008, 1:51 pm
Filed under: Event Coverage | Tags: , , ,

[By Anthony]

Event: i35

Location: Stoneleigh Park, Stoneleigh, Warwickshire

Verdict:

Regular readers will know that I went down to Warwickshire yesterday to check out i35, an event set up by Multiplay (www.multiplay.co.uk). I visited their previous event, M Festival, back in August and I was more than impressed. M Festival gave the blog a boost in credibiliy and many of the things you see on here today are thanks to the faith Multiplay showed in us, by allowing XeNonX to cover the event.

I was invited back to Stoneleigh for i35 at the end of M Festival and I gladly accepted. A bit of research lead me to the conclusion that, although it would not be as exhibition centric as M Festival, it would still be a good event to cover. Sadly it didn’t live up to my expectations. Hit the jump for more.

i35 is part of the i-series of PC gaming tournaments, at first this made me a little apprehensive of what to expect. I was assured, however, that the event would be worth my while even if I was only going for the exhibition. This was not the case.

There were two console specific booths, one from EA and one from Activision. Not a good start. I headed to the Activision stand and got a bit of a hands on with Call Of Duty: WAW, having played around in multiplayer I tried to have a look at the campaign mode, this was inaccessible on the build available. I was impressed by Activisions showing, but thought they might have had some single player for me to preview. All was not lost I hopped across to the EA booth and from the moment I stepped in I could see that no effort had been made.

The cabinets were the same ones from the previous event. Displaying images of FIFA 09 and Mercenaries 2. Of course this is good advertising for said games, but wouldn’t it have been better to display Left 4 Dead and Mirrors Edge (both of which were playable)? I think so.

The other problem I had with EA was this, they promised Mirrors Edge, Left 4 Dead and Need For Speed: Undercover. What I got was Left 4 Dead (good start), the Mirrors Edge demo (fail) and not even a hint that NFS was going to be there (EPIC FAIL).

The show was obviously PC focussed but, the way the console stuff was sold to me by the Multiplay website is what made me travel 6 hours (there and back) to Warwickshire. Not good. Had I not been carrying a camera it would have been more of a disaster. I guess it serves me right for jumping the gun and, had I been a PC gamer, i’m sure i’d have enjoyed it. For anyone else it was a bit of a waste of time.

Regardless, I would still like to thank Mark Tilbrook and the rest of the guys at Multiplay for giving XeNonX another great opportunity to prove ourselves. It’s just a shame they couldn’t have had another M Festival to go along with the event, in comparison to that the exhibition seemed…dull.

I should have my video diary up on the site tomorrow, hopefully you’ll be able to see what I mean.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

