XeNonX


Why Don’t People Listen? by Anthony Barlow
September 8, 2008, 10:23 am
Filed under: Crazy Ass Ramblings | Tags: , , ,

[By Anthony]

I’ve got a bit of a rant here, i’ve not had one in a while and I thought this’d be one that would appeal to pretty much anyone. The rant concerns a friend of mine and EA’s Mercenaries 2. Hit the jump for a tale of sheer stupidity and the wasting of a good £40.

Everyone’s had someone ask them “should i buy…?” right? Well I got that question the other day from a mate of mine let’s call him ‘Dave’. ‘Dave’ asked me if he should buy ‘Mercenaries 2: World In Flames’. He says he asked me because he reads the blog and knows that I know a good game from a bad one. Fair enough. I told him specifically NOT to buy Mercs 2 because he’d have as much fun with it as he would a polished turd. He seemed to take my comments on board and I actually thought, just for one minute my opinion mattered. Well it didn’t.

I came into college this morning and overheard him talking to people about what crap the game was. For a minute I thought that maybe he’d done the right thing and just played it at a friends of something. He didn’t. Turns out he discounted anything i’d said about the game and gone ahead and bought it anyway.

I can imagine him coming home and putting the disc into his Xbox 360 (what’s one of them?) and finding, just as I did back in August, that the game was a waste of money and complete crap. He’s now left with a game he hates and is playing it purely for Achivements.

Leaving me asking, “Why do people ask my opinion (or for help), when they don’t listen anyway?”. I hope none of our other readers are like that.

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Serves him right, might pick up Rock Band M8. How is the online in it? What Modes, co-op etc.

Comment by Ad's

Yeah you should do mate. I’ve actually never played Rock Band online before so I wouldn’t know. Can’t see it being much different to GH III online though. Make sure you pick up the U.S. version of Rock Band in case of region locking, you know how EA are.

Comment by Anthony (Editor In Chief)

US version? What region locking? Was just gonna get it from Shopto on Thurs. Shopto’s bundle is well expensive, it’s cheaper to buy the instuments and game on there own. Ideally would want the drum kit and game but even the drums are £70.

Comment by Ad's

Think about it mate, I didn’t mean region locking. Think PlayStation store.

Comment by Anthony (Editor In Chief)

Ah, I get you. Might order from vg+ then. Should be here in 3 days if I order from them. Just need to get paid 1st.

Comment by Ad's

MovieTyme have got it for £32/£33 with Special Delivery.

Comment by Anthony (Editor In Chief)

Vg+ would be quicker than movietyme, £25 plus delivery should only be £29.

Comment by Ad's

Scrap that Vg+ is £29 + delivery. 😦

Comment by Ad's

Movietyme it is then. Why is this in the comments of a post about Mercs 2 and not Rock Band :).

Comment by Anthony (Editor In Chief)

See people? This is why you listen to XenonX. We know our shit.

Comment by ryangray

Because Mercs is that shit it isnt worth talking about?

Movietyme is too slow. Will either get it from Vg+ or Shopto. Never ordering ps3 games again from Movietyme I waited about 6 weeks for Time Crisis 4.

Comment by Ad's

how about ebay they should have something there. If not you might have to buy it from VG+ for the ‘extras’.

Comment by Anthony (Editor In Chief)




Leave a Reply

